The Nutrition Society

MINUTES OF THE 8th ANNUAL CHARITY MEETING OF THE NUTRITION SOCIETY, A COMPANY LIMITED BY GUARANTEE

Held at the Royal College of Nursing, Cavendish Square, London At 16.30 on Monday 9th September 2019 Professor Phillip Calder, President of the Society, was in the Chair

1(i) Welcome and apologies for absence

The Chairman welcomed members to the 8th Annual Charity Meeting. A minute's silence was held for the recently deceased members the Society has been notified of, namely – Professor Prakash Shetty, Dr Jacquie Shaw, Professor Ronald G Clarke and Professor Derek J. Oddy.

1(ii) Minutes of 7th Annual Charity Meeting

The minutes of the 7th Annual Charity meeting were approved by the meeting.

The proposer was Professor Julie Lovegrove and the seconder was Professor Sue Lanham-New.

2. The President's report

The President (Professor Philip Calder) re-affirmed the six principal activities as being:

- 1. Publishing five internationally renowned learned journals;
- 2. Publishing nutrition textbooks
- 3. Dissemination of scientific information through its publications and an annual programme of scientific conferences.
- 4 Providing education and training for nutrition professionals and members.
- 5 Developing collaboration with nutrition societies around the world.
- 6 The provision of membership services

He provided the meeting with an overview of the key achievements and events for the Society in 2018 using a series of infographics. Professor Calder concluded by thanking the members of the Trustee Board and the Council.

3. To receive the approved annual accounts of the Society

The treasurer, Professor Chris Seal delivered the annual accounts. 2018 was a satisfactory year, financially, for the Society, although somewhat different from the past 5 years. In 2014 the Trustees agreed to build reserves, which could then be used to invest in the Society's strategic objectives.

In the three years between 2015 and 2017 the money spent by the Society on its activities did not exceed its annual revenue, which enabled just over £1 million to be accumulated in reserves. In 2018, to meet the many objectives agreed by the Trustees it was necessary to start to use those reserves, as the investment needed exceed the Society's usual annual income.

The accounts were received in full.

The proposer was Professor Jayne Woodside and the seconder was Professor Julie Lovegrove.

4. To elect Trustees and Advisory Council Members

It was proposed that Professor Julie Lovegrove succeeds as the new President of the Society, Professor Jayne Woodside (Honorary Publications Officer), and Associate Prof. Eileen Gibney (Honorary Officer without Portfolio) were 'elected unopposed'. The motion was carried.

The proposer was Dr Bernadette Moore and the seconder was Ms Penny Hunking.

Professor Chris Seal (Honorary Treasurer) was **'re-elected unopposed'** for a further term.

The results of the ballot for the election of Council Members was announced. Dr Bernadette Moore was **'re-elected unopposed'** as the Clinical/Medical member of the Advisory Council. The motion was carried.

The proposer was Professor Julie Lovegrove and the seconder was Professor Sue Lanham-New.

Additionally, Ms Kiu Sum was 'elected unopposed' as the Student Section Chair and

Professor Calder thanked the retiring trustee Professor Paul Trayhurn for his hard work and dedication.

6. To transact any other Business of the Society

No other business was submitted prior to the meeting; Professor Philip Calder drew the meeting to a close.

7. Meeting concludes

There being no further business, this concluded the meeting.