Board of Trustees

The Nutrition Society is governed by a Board of 11 Trustees (12 in years when there is a President Elect).  The Board of Trustees (traditionally known as Honorary Officers) are elected by the Society's members.

The Board of Trustees, headed by the Society's President, collectively set the strategic direction of the Society, are responsible for the business of the Society and oversee all of the Society's activities.  Each Trustee is responsible for a specific area of the Society's work and is supported by a committee drawn from the Advisory Council, members of the Society with relevant interests and, in some cases, external specialists with appropiate skills for specific projects. 

The Board of Trustees are elected for a three year term, after which they may be re-elected for another three years.  However, they cannot serve more than three terms concurrently.  To find out more about current vacancies on the Board of Trustees, view the elections and voting section.    For the job descriptions for each Trustee (Honorary Officers) see here.

Professor Julie Lovegrove
Professor Julie Lovegrove (BSc, Diet (Dip), PhD, RNutr, FAfN) is Hugh Sinclair Professor of Human Nutrition, Director of the Hugh Sinclair Unit of Human Nutrition, and Deputy Director of the...
Honorary Science Officer
John is Professor of Nutritional Biochemistry at the University of Nottingham. He teaches aspects of nutrition, endocrinology and metabolism on various degrees, including BSc Nutrition, BSc Animal...
Barbara Bray, MBE
Honorary Officer for International Affairs
Barbara Bray has 20 years’ experience working in the agri-food sector in the UK and Europe, Middle East and African countries. Her career has covered fresh produce procurement and the provision of...
Dr Bernard Corfe
Honorary Programme Officer
Bernard Corfe is Professor of Human Nutrition and Health at University of Newcastle. His early career was in gene regulation in bacteria and in cancer cells, before moving into nutrition mid-career...
Eileen Gibney
Honorary Membership Officer
Associate Professor Eileen Gibney (BSc, PhD, MSc) has worked in the area of human nutrition since 1997. Graduating with a degree in human nutrition from Ulster University, she then obtained her PhD...
Image of Penny Hunking
Honorary Training Academy Officer
Penny Hunking has written, researched and talked to consumers and professionals about virtually every aspect of diet, weight management and exercise. Penny thrives on working with new and...
Dr Anastasia Kalea
Honorary Officer without Portfolio
Anastasia Z. Kalea (PhD, RD, SFHEA) is an Associate Professor (Teaching) in the Division of Medicine and an Honorary Associate Professor of the Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences at University...
Susan Lanham-New
Honorary Secretary, Editor in Chief, Society's Textbook Series
Professor Susan Lanham-New is head of the Department of Nutritional Sciences at the University of Surrey and is a registered Public Health Nutritionist (RPHNutr). She completed her BSc in Exercise...
Dr Carrie Ruxton
Honorary Strategic Communications Officer
Dr Carrie Ruxton PhD, lead consultant at Nutrition Communications, has over 20 years' experience as a registered dietitian and nutrition expert. Dr Carrie Ruxton is an award-winning dietitan, health...
Professor Jayne Woodside
Honorary Publications Officer
Professor of Human Nutrition at Queen’s University Belfast, Jayne  - MA Hons (Oxon), PhD FSB -  is part of the Centre for Public Health, within the School of Medicine, Dentistry and Biomedical...
Tom Hill
Honorary Treasurer
Tom Hill is Professor of Nutrition at Newcastle University. His research and teaching specialisms fall under four broad areas: nutrition in very-old age, micronutrients and health, food and health...