Irish Section


University of Ulster
Irish Section Chair
Professor Alison Gallagher is currently Head of Doctoral College (Coleraine/Magee) at Ulster University. With over 90 peer-reviewed publications (h-index of 30), Alison contributes to the research...
Dr Emma Feeney
Institute of Food and Health, University College Dublin
Secretary of the Irish Section
Dr. Emma Feeney is a Lecturer / Assistant Professor in UCD’s Institute of Food and Health, where she co-ordinates modules in Human eating behaviour, Food Ingredients, and Sensory science, and was...
Lisa Kelliher
University College Cork
Irish Section Student Representative
Lisa Kelliher is a third year PhD researcher within the Cork centre for Vitamin D and Nutrition Research, and The Irish Centre for Maternal and Child Health Research, at University College Cork. She...
School of Agriculture and Food Science, University College Dublin
Ordinary Section Member
Sharleen O'Reilly (BSc, PhD, RD) is based at University College Dublin in the School of Agriculture and Food Science. Sharleen is a member of the UCD Institute of Food and Health and the UCD ...
School of Biomedical Sciences, Ulster University
Treasurer of the Irish Section
Dr Kirsty Pourshahidi graduated from Ulster University with a BSc Hons (first class) Human Nutrition (2007), followed by a PhD in Nutrition (2011).  Kirsty is currently working as a Lecturer in Food...
National Dairy Council
Membership Secretary of the Irish Section
Dr Marianne Walsh is Nutrition Manager at the National Dairy Council. With over 15 years’ experience, she has worked mainly in Nutrition Research but also as a consultant, with private clients and...
Maria Wesolowska
Irish Section Student representative
Maria Wesolowska is a PhD researcher within the Nutrition Innovation Centre for Food and Health (NICHE) at Ulster University. She graduated from Ulster University with a BSc Hons in Human Nutrition....
Ordinary Section Member
Dr. Aileen McGloin was appointed as Director of Nutrition in March, 2022 having acted as Marketing and Communications Director for the previous four years.  Her role focuses on addressing key public...