Board of Trustees

The Nutrition Society is governed by a Board of Trustees (traditionally known as Honorary Officers) elected by our members. Our Trustees, headed by our President, collectively set the strategic direction of the Society, are responsible for the business of the Society and oversee all of the Society's activities.

Image of Professor Philip Calder
Professor Philip Calder BSc(Hons), PhD, DPhil, RNutr, FSB, FAfN is Professor of Nutritional Immunology within Medicine at the University of Southampton.  His work aims to understand how nutrition...
Dr Bernard Corfe
Honorary Programme Officer
Dr Bernard Corfe joined the University of Sheffield as a lecturer in 2002 following training in molecular pharmacology. His research training was in microbial molecular biology and his first postdoc...
Professor Basma Ellahi
Honorary International Affairs Officer
Basma Ellahi is Professor of Public Health Nutrition in the Faculty of Health and Social Care, University of Chester.  Having spent nine years in senior management roles, developing and leading...
Image of Penny Hunking
Honorary Training Academy Officer
Penny Hunking has written, researched and talked to consumers and professionals about virtually every aspect of diet, weight management and exercise. Penny thrives on working with new and challenging...
Susan Lanham-New
Honorary Secretary
Professor Susan Lanham-New is head of the Department of Nutritional Sciences at the University of Surrey and is a registered Public Health Nutritionist (RPHNutr). She completed her BSc in Exercise...
Dr Carrie Ruxton
Honorary Strategic Communications Officer
Dr Carrie Ruxton PhD, lead consultant at Nutrition Communications, has over 20 years' experience as a registered dietitian and nutrition expert. Dr Carrie Ruxton is an award-winning dietitan, health...
Image of Professor Chris Seal
Honorary Treasurer
Professor Chris Seal is chair of Board of Studies, Food & Human Nutrition BSc. He Joined Newcastle University in 1983 in the Department of Agricultural Biochemistry and Nutrition, where he stayed...
Honorary Membership Officer
Biography to follow
Image of Dr Frank Thies
Honorary Science Officer
Dr Frank Thies graduated in animal Physiology from the University of Burgundy (France) in 1987 before undertaking a PhD in Nutritional Physiology, also at the University of Burgundy and awarded in...
Image of Professor Paul Trayhurn
Honorary Publications Officer
Professor Paul Trayhurn, BSc (Reading), DPhil, DSc (Oxon) FRSE is Emeritus Professor of Nutritional Biology at the University of Liverpool, Professorial Research Fellow (part-time) at the University...