Advisory Council

The Nutrition Society’s Advisory Council is established under the Articles of Association 55-57, ‘There shall be a body of persons known as the Council whose composition, rules and regulations shall be proscribed by the Trustees from time to time.’ 

The Advisory Council comprises of 20 elected members, including six members of Council, the eleven Board of Trustees, the Secretaries of the Scottish Section and the Irish Section and Student Section Chair. Advisory Council members provide advice, critique, ideas and insight for Trustees to help underpin the evidence required to inform the proposals and subsequent decisions of Trustees, in support of the development and delivery of strategy, policy and activity. In addition, Advisory Council members identify future priorities and opportunities under the strategic plan, facilitate communication and access to the membership, stakeholders, external networks and potential partners, and support promotion of Society activities and help raise its profile.

The six members on the Advisory Council are elected for a three year term, after which they may be re-elected for another three year term.  However, they cannot serve more than two three year terms concurrently.  To find out more about current vacancies on the Advisory Council, view the elections and voting section.  

Dr Spiridoula Athanasiadou
Council Member - Animal Nutrition
Dr Spiridoula Athanasiadou (DVM) is a Reader in gastrointestinal health at SRUC. Her research focuses on developing sustainable nutritional alternatives to chemoprophylaxis for parasite control in...
Dr Derek Ball
Scottish Section Secretary
Derek Ball is currently the Head of Sport Science at the University of Aberdeen. He returned to Aberdeen after a 14-year gap to lead the undergraduate program in Sport related degrees and to lead on...
Dr Adrienne Cullum
Council Member - Policy
Adrienne is a Registered Nutritionist (public health) with over 25 years nutrition experience – in public health guidance, policy and research.  She is Head of Nutrition Science at Public Health...
Dr Louise Durrant
Council Member - Industry
Dr Louise Durrant is a Registered Dietitian and Science Manager at Yakult UK. She completed her BBSRC Diet & Health Research Industry Club (DRINC) funded PhD studentship at the University of...
Dr Charlotte Evans
Council Member - Public Health
Charlotte EL Evans is an Associate Professor in Nutritional Epidemiology and Public Health Nutrition at the University of Leeds, UK, with more than 20 years’ experience in researching dietary...
Prof Bruce Griffin
Council member - Academia
Professor Griffin is a biomedical scientist with expertise in lipid metabolism, nutritional biochemistry and cardiovascular disease. After his BSc in medical laboratory science (1984), he gained his...
Dr Bernadette Moore
Council Member - Clinical/Medical
Dr. J. Bernadette Moore is Associate Professor of Obesity in the School of Food Science and Nutrition at the University of Leeds. After obtaining her Ph.D. in Nutritional Sciences at the University...
Dr Anne Nugent
Irish Section Secretary
A Senior Lecturer in Nutrition at Queens University Belfast (QUB), Anne Nugent BSc (Hons) PhD Pg Dip graduated from Ulster University at Coleraine with a first class Hons degree in Human Nutrition....
Kiu Sum
Student Section Chair
Kiu has a nutrition background having previously graduated from with a BSc (Hons) at the University of Westminster and subsequently a MRes from Imperial College London. She is currently embarking on...